Posted by: DJ Ocean | May 14, 2010

The DJ Jazzy Jeff Tribute Mix

As a DJ, I have worked to reach the point where I could submit a CD to my hero DJ Jazzy Jeff (@DJJazzyJeff215) and I’ve finally achieved my goal. I try to take my listeners on a journey and I think this mix shows off the fluid mixing style I have developed and my ability to switch genres as learned from watching Jeff on numerous occasions.

Having achieved this goal, I can finally let go of DJing as an obsession. I no longer care if I ever play out and I’m content knowing I did what I wanted to do so I can walk away without regret (should I decide to go this route). After all, a true Shaolin warrior doesn’t crave attention or adventure, only the search for perfection through daily practice.

The below mix is the fruit of all of the time and effort I’ve put in behind my digital turntables and I couldn’t be happier with it. I’ve been working feverishly for the last couple of years to develop my style and I think the hard work has paid off especially in this mix which fuses hip hop, soul, jazz, R & B, pop, club, rock and roll, garage and house music.

There are a ton of seldom heard remixes on this CD and I think if you just take the time to download it and give it a listen, you’ll feel as though the time you spend downloading it was worth it. I wish I could list the tracks but I’m dead sure I would get put in DJ jail for having these remixes even though I paid for them so I can’t. With that being said, considering how many people come up to Jeff and try to drop mixes, I know how valuable his time is so I gave this mix everything I have.

In essence, this mix is my way of paying musical tribute to the man who helped shape my world as a DJ. I hope you listening to this as much as I enjoyed making it and Jeff, if somehow you come across this mix and you like it, feel free to leave a comment or shoot me a tweet @DJOcean.

You Are My Hero by DJ Ocean


Leave a comment

Categories